The Band

The band has many members from different backgrounds and age groups. We welcome enquiries from any brass or percussion players who would be interested in joining a brass band. There is more information in our vacancies section.

Members of Backworth Colliery Band
Musical Director Daniel Laverick
Deputy Conductor Gillian McMillan
Principal Cornet Matthew Murdoch
Solo Cornets Catherine McKenzie
Stuart Hook
Soprano Cornet Teresa Campbell
Repiano Cornet Ben Laws
2nd/3rd Cornets Paul Kemp
Penny Walters
Flugel Horn Leah McMillan
Solo Horn Alison Lockhart
1st Horn Julie Lymath
2nd Horn Frances Lawson
1st Baritone Aubrey Crowe
2nd Baritone Geoff Lawson
Hannah Flint
Principal Euphonium Adrian McMillan
Euphonium Michael McKenzie
Karen Snaith
1st Trombone Ben Dovinson
2nd Trombone Amy Murdoch
Bass Trombone Vacancy
Eb Bass Nikita Gilbert-Ovens
Phil Colman
BBb Bass Peter Barker
Percussion (kit) Vacancy
Percussion (tuned) Gillian McMillan

Senior Band Committee

The band is run on a voluntary basis, here is a list of the current committee members

Committee of Backworth Colliery Band
Chair Catherine McKenzie
Secretary Adrian McMillan
Treasurer Alison Lockhart
Band Manager Leah McMillan
Contest Secretary Penny Walters
Librarian Nikita Gilbert-Ovens
Safeguarding and Welfare Vacancy
Property Manager Gillian McMillan
Publicity Ben Laws
Training Band Liaison Catherine McKenzie